Opening Hours : Mon - Fri: 8am - 5pm
Send us a Mail:

National Accord and Agenda Four Commissions



In 2008, the KLRC played a leading role in the in the development of legislation implementing the National Accord.
The National Accord and Reconciliation Act, 2008 was enacted. It went a long way in diffusing the tension arising due to the contested 2007 Presidential Elections.


Among the legislation developed by KLRC include the Constitution of Kenya Amendment Bills, 2009 which created the Committee of Experts (CoE), Interim Independent Electoral Commission (IIEC), Interim Independent Boundaries Review Commission (IIBRC), and Interim Independent Constitutional Dispute Resolution Court (IICDRC).
The CoE drafted the new constitution, while IIBRC was operationalized, carried out its duties and submitted its report on delimitation of electoral boundaries to Parliament before its term expired. IIEC was operational until replaced by Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) under the new Constitution and operationalized by the IEBC Act, 2011.


KLRC also developed the legal framework which established and operationalized the Truth, Justice and Reconciliation Commission (TJRC), the National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC) among others.
TJRC is functional and it's continuing with its public hearings. NCIC is operational and is carrying out its mandate. TJRC is expected to complete its mandate by June, 2012 and present its final report to Parliament. NCIC is expected to ensure that national integration and reconciliation are embraced and realized so as to prevent any recurrence of PEV as witnessed in 2007/08