Vacancies  |  Tenders  |  Site Map  |  FAQs  |  Staff Login  |  Contact Us

(1) The Senate consists of--

(a) forty-seven members each elected by the registered voters of the counties, each county constituting a single member constituency;
(b) sixteen women members who shall be nominated by political parties according to their proportion of members of the Senate elected under clause (a) in accordance with Article 90;
(c) two members, being one man and one woman, representing the youth;
(d) two members, being one man and one woman, representing persons with disabilities; and
(e) the Speaker, who shall be an ex officio member.

(2) The members referred to in clause (1) (c) and (d) shall be elected in accordance with Article 90.
(3) Nothing in this Article shall be construed as excluding any person from contesting an election under clause (1) (a).

Sign up for our Newsletter

Subscriber to our quarterly newsletter
  • Physical Address: Reinsurance Plaza, 3rd Floor, 4 Taifa Road
    P.O. Box 34999-00100
    NAIROBI, Kenya. 
    Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Phone: (+254) 20 2241201, +254799030716, Fax: (+254)202225786
    facebook account klrc     twitter account klrc     youtube account klrc